Divorces of North Carolina makes the divorce process quick and easy. Raymond Burke, the attorney behind Divorces of NC, acknowledges that there are some circumstances where hiring an hourly lawyer may be in your best interest. However, couples may not need to pay attorneys thousands of dollars to get a divorce. Many people are simply unaware that getting an uncontested divorce online is not only possible, but also the fastest, and the cheapest way to get a divorce in North Carolina. Since it does not require the couple to appear in court, it is also the easiest and most convenient way to get a divorce.
To qualify for divorce in North Carolina, you must prove that you and your spouse have been living separately for at least one year and that either you or your spouse have been a North Carolina resident for a minimum of six months. To qualify for our services specifically, your divorce should be uncontested since all rights to alimony and equitable distribution of marital property must be invoked prior to divorce proceedings. However, child support and custody issues do not affect your eligibility because they can be resolved at any time. If you think you will need legal action to settle any issues, it is probably in your best interest to obtain the divorce in conjunction with a law suit.
Clients begin by filling out the “Getting Started” form on the Divorces of NC website. Shortly after, you will be contacted by a paralegal who will ask for any additional information that may be needed. Once it has been determined that you have met the qualifications, you will be prompted to pay the $150 fee. Note that you also pay the court filing fees at this time. If you receive government financial assistance of any kind, including disability, it may be possible to get court costs waived. The necessary NC divorce papers will then be generated and sent to you by your preferred method of mail or e-mail. Once you have signed, notarized and returned the paperwork to our office, we will then take the paperwork to the courthouse and file it for you.
Next, copies of the filed paperwork will be sent to your spouse. Your spouse must have the paperwork signed, notarized and returned to our office. Please note, if you think your spouse might not cooperate and sign the paperwork as required and/or may contest the divorce, you need to contact us to discuss your options. Thirty days after the date your spouse signed the paperwork, Divorces of NC will schedule a hearing with a judge where they confirm that all the paperwork is correct and ultimately, the divorce will be granted. You will never have to miss work for an office or courthouse visit and you will be regularly updated on the progress of your divorce along the way. Usually in about 75-90 days, the cheap and fast divorce you’ve been hoping for will be completed.